Stuart G. Cripwell

Tonight I’ll discuss Stuart G. Cripwell. Stuart tattoos out of Spider Murphy’s Tattoo in San Rafael, CA. Before I even begin talking about Mr. Cripwell, if you’re unaware of Spider Murphy’s Tattoo, do yourself a favor and familiarize yourself with their shop. They’ve got several quality tattooers working out of there-Matt Howse, Paul Anthony Dobleman, Heather Bailey, Theo Mendell, and Bryan Randolph-that are consistently putting out excellent work.

According to his website, Stuart starting tattooing in 2004 and apprenticed under Theo Mindell. His style reminds me of Zach Nelligan’s, in that he adheres to the traditional tattoo standard of thick, bold lines with bold colors; from what I’ve come across of his work, he mainly likes to keep his tattoos with more darker shades, and he seems to primarily like to use red, green, black, grey, and yellow. That’s I quality I love about Zach Nelligan’s work, same thing goes for Cripwell’s work. One of my favorite pictures of leg sleeves I’ve ever seen was done by Stuart. Take a look:

Here’s some of his work:

I’m hoping that sometime in the very near future I’ll be able to get something tattooed by him. If you’re in California, do yourself a favor and head over to Spider Murphy’s and getting a sweet ass tattoo. Check out Stuart’s website. Thanks for reading, ladies and gentleman. Enjoy your night.

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Tattooers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

