Mike Adams

After talking about Mike Adams this weekend, I decided that I’d do a quick little write up on him tonight. For those of you that are unaware or Mike or his work, he currently tattoos out of True Sight Tattoo Co. in Detroit Michigan. He co-founded the shop with Brian Brown in September of last year.

Before I even get into his tattooing, I just want to talk about how surprised I was to find out that Mike is only 26-he’s six months older than me. I bring up his age because I envisioned someone with his sort of skills, technicality, and overall amazing work to be at least a little older than a dude that’s 26 and quite regularly produces high-quality work. Obviously age isn’t a precursor into whether or not someone is talented, but I was shocked to see that someone practically my age is, to put it frank, a balling tattooer (Upon doing some research, I definitely was unaware that a lot of the tattooers that I like are around my age. That’s pretty cool).

In terms of Mike’s work, the dude produces some awesome tattoos. He has a style that is rooted in traditional tattooing-thick outlines, heavy shading, limited coloring-but he adds a little twist to it. His style is definitely his own. The dude tends to be heavy on shading and darker colors, which is something that I really enjoy. The shading in some of his tattoos, to me, is really unmatched-some of the shading in his black and grey tattoos that I’ve seen from him have blown me away. I’m not always the biggest fan of black and grey tattoos, but he truly does them really well.  He also builds his own machines, which is pretty awesome. Check some of them out here.

From time to time I’ve seen him post some  tattoos that maybe had two pairs of eyes or some of those geometrical triangles and shapes, which I’m not really a fan of, but I think he’s able to pull it off because of the fact that it’s usually paired with a classic design.

My love for his work stems from the fact that he truly knows how to shade a tattoo, and usually uses more darker colored designs. You can’t go wrong with a tattoo that has nice thick lines, awesome shading, and some dark greens, reds, and maybe some yellow thrown in there. Here’s some of his work:

Mike’s recently been at Thick Than Water Tattoo in NYC and will be tattooing at the Electric City Tattoo Convention in Scranton, PA. Follow Mike on his Tumblr and check out True Sight Tattoo Co.’s website. Thanks for reading. Enjoy, ladies and gentleman.

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Flash and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

