Interview with Franz Stefanik

I’m going to be super busy for the majority of the weekend, so this will most likely be my only post until Monday. This is a partial interview I did with Franz via Facebook. I’m really grateful that he took time out of his schedule to answer some of my lame questions. On Tuesday, I’ll be doing a quick write up on Franz for Tattooer Tuesday, so make sure to watch out for that. Here’s some of our conversation:

OED: For those that are unfamiliar with your work, how would you describe your style?

Franz: Heavily inspired by the obvious, traditional american, but with my own flare and twist on it.

OED: Explain how you developed your style.

Franz: I origianlly took what already existed and then kinda just sat down and drew it myself. With doing this over and over, you get to develop your own formula for drawing something, and in time that just kinda evolves into how you draw things.

OED: What/who has influenced your work?

Franz: All the old classic tattooers , and pretty much anything I see that catches my eye, not even necissarily tattoo based images. Art is all around us-its a feeding frenzy for you mind. I find myself taking inspiration from the most out of context things sometimes.

OED: What was your first tattoo that you got of? What was that experience like and how old were you?

Franz: Was a heart on my shoulder, I barley remember the process and how I felt about it. I just remember being in high school with a tattoo and thought it was super badass.

OED: What was your last tattoo?

Franz: Mr.Koeplinger made an eagle on the top of my head.

OED: Do you have a favorite tattoo of yours?

Franz: My left side-I have a big ol fox done by one of my coworkers Bailey Moffat.

OED: How did you get into tattooing?

Franz: I always was the art kid in highschool and got tattooed a young age, originally wanted to be an animator. I ended up hating the shit out of it, worked some shitty retail jobs, then got on the kick of being a tattooer and just gave er’ untill i got in.

OED: What was your apprenticeship like/learning to tattoo (if you did do an apprenticeship), whom was it with, and how long was it?

Franz: It was kinda crazy actually, an artist quit at a studio and they needed someone to replace him, so pretty much was apprenticed as fast as possible. Skipped out on alot of the bitch work and got right down to business. The owner of the shop owned 3 studios so he had a lot of priorities running around from shop to shop, which was stressful at times but I had alot of help from a now good friend Bill McVey.

OED: What was your first tattooing experience like? Do you remember what it was of?

Franz: I slapped a hilarious new school like zombie head on my thigh, I was showed how to set up a machine, and how to pull a line, then I was left to just giver’. Fuck I musta tattooed my own leg for like 5 and half hours.

OED: What is one of your worst tattooing experiences?

hard to even pick out a worst experience, now a days people love to get tiny script on their ribs, and so many people dont prepare themself for how much its actually gunna suck.

OED: Do you have a favorite tattoo that you’ve done ? If so, what is it of?

Franz: Its hard to pick out favourites, they all have a special spot in my mind.

OED: Any crazy customer stories?

Franz: endless….

Again, I can’t thank Franz enough for taking time to go through my questions. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I did. Enjoy, folks. Thanks for reading and have a good weekend.

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Interviews, Tattooers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

