Nick Colella

For some reason, I’m really, really tired. So, I’m going to make my post tonight pretty short and sweet. Anyway, tonight I decided that I’d write about Nick Colella. For those of you that are unfamiliar with him, Nick currently tattoos at the amazing Chicago Tattoo Co. in Chicago, IL. The Chicago Tattoo Co. is Chicago and Illinois oldest shop having originally opened in the 60’s. Not only is The Chicago Tattoo Co. home of Nick Colella, but it is also home to such tattooers as Mario Desa and Matt Ziolko among others. It’s an all around great shop with some very talented tattoers.

Nick’s work is definitely some of my favorite. Here is Nick describing his style:

” I have been tattooing in Chicago at The Chicago Tattoo Co for the past 16 years. I am greatly influenced by Traditional American Tattooing from the 20’s through the 60’s specifically tattooing in Chicago on South State Street. The main influences I have from that era are Tatts Thomas, Ralph Johnstone, Amund Dietzel, Bert Grimm, Owen Jensen, Ben Corday, and Sailor Jerry. Current and contemporary influences are Cliff Raven, Ed Hardy, Mike Malone, Mike Wilson, Scott Sylvia, Josh Arment and far too many more to list. Not only do I respect what they have brought to tattooing but I respect their work ethic and vision as well.”

Here’s some examples of his work:

Nick Colella seems like a really cool guy, one that cherishes and respects the rich heritage that traditional tattooing is rooted from in Chicago. Gotta love that. Follow him on his Tumblr and check out his website. If you’re from Chicago or the surrounding area, stop at The Chicago Tattoo Co. and get an awesome tattoo from Nick, or any of the  other fine tattooers at the shop. If you’re from Ireland, he’ll be at Allstar Ink in Limerick from March 27-30. Do yourself a favor and get tattooed by him. Thanks for reading, folks. Enjoy.

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Tattooers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

