JR ‘Kernal’ Tubbs

I’m currently watching the Yankees game, and, as much as I’d not like to admit it, I’m semi-yelling at the TV. It’s a close game, and games like these bring out the whack job in me. Anyway, let’s talk tattoos. JR ‘Kernal’ Tubbs is a gentleman that I got the chance to briefly talk to this weekend at the Roc City Tattoo Expo. He seemed like a pretty nice dude, and we got to talking about tattoos, Krooked Ken and how Ken tattooed me last year. As I mentioned in my post about the convention, I was very close to getting tattooed by him, but sadly decided not to. I  know who I’ll be hitting up next year, though.

Kernal Tubbs currently tattoos out of True Til Death Tattoo Co. in Ashtabula, OH. His style is that old-school, Americana traditional tattooing that I truly love; one that instantly reminds you of classic tattooing. Check out this interview JR did with Shane Cashman for Swallows and Daggers. Quality interview, and Mr. Tubbs does a better job of explaining himself and his style than I can.  Here’s some of his tattoos and paintings:

Cool tattoos by a cool dude. If you’re in Ohio, or the surrounding area, stop into True Til Death Tattoo Co. in Astabula and get yourself a sweet tattoo by the Kernal. If you have Instagram, follow JR Tubbs at tattootubbsy1. I don’t believe he has a Tumblr, but you can always contact him on Facebook. I’m going to go rip my hair out and yell at the TV now. Robertson’s got the bases loaded in the top of the 9th in a 1-0 ball game. We miss you already Mo. Thanks for reading, folks. Enjoy the rest of your night.

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Tattooers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

