Tattoo Age Season Two: Mutsuo episode 2

It’s that time of the week again. Here’s the second part to Mutsuo’s segment. I’ve gotta say that I really enjoyed part one last week. It was one of my favorites so far. While there aren’t huge differences that I noticed, I definitely got a slight sense of contrasting cultural norms between the American/Westerners that have been shown thus far compared to Mutsuo and Three Tides. In no way is this a bad thing, nor is this meant to be disrespectful.

When Mutsuo was talking about him reprimanding and yelling at the apprentices when they paint or draw flash incorrectly, I immediately thought of this. It’s definitely not as extreme as what that tattooer describes, but it made me wonder if some of that mindset is still engrained within tattoo culture there. Who knows.  I’m sure that similar things happen/happened with some of the folks that have been on the show, or American/Western tattooers, but that’s what initially came to mind. Additionally, at one point Mutsuo even talks about Japanese people being shy and their customers not being used to the cameras in the shop.

The dudes shown at Three Tides all seem like humble dudes, so kudos to them. Anyway, here’s the video. Enjoy!

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Tattooers, Video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

