The Gypsy Gentleman Episode 6

At this point, hopefully you’ve at least watched an episode or two of The Gypsy Gentleman, featuring the work and travels of Marcus Kuhn and local tattooers of cities that he visits. If not, you should probably get on the ball with that. I don’t want to beat a dead horse, but what a great series this has become. I know I say this with each new episode, but it’s truly a very well done series, it’s thoroughly entertaining, and it’s right up there with Tattoo Age as bright spots in an otherwise trite and ridiculous media craze revolving tattooing.

This episode features Marcus in Paris hanging with Tin-Tin from Tin-Tin Tatouages and Laura Santana of Exotic Tattoos.  It opens with Marcus roaming the streets of Paris, hanging with locals, bumming some booze off of them, and then eventually he winds up at the Museum of Eroticism. I quickly noticed that there wasn’t much narrating or dialogue going on with the opening segment. Marcus talks about the growing youth culture that has become to define Paris, Tattooing in Paris and France as a whole, and just a few quick insights about the city. At first I wasn’t really feeling that, but the more I watched the more I enjoyed it. I’ve never been to Paris, but it seems to be a beautiful city. With the opening scene of this episode, I thought that Marcus and Co. did a wonderful job capturing the beauty of such an old city. I quickly became quick content with the shots and scenery of Paris.

In terms of the remainder of the episode, I thought that Tin-Tin’s interview was probably one of the best of the series. I think it was a culmination of his story about how he got his first machine, as well as the goofiness and laid-back personality that I enjoyed. I always appreciate stories such as those. Not to mention the Catacombs is one of those places that I without a doubt have to see at some point. Plus, each tattooer makes a skull tattoo after visiting the Catacombs, and who doesn’t like skull tattoos?

At the end of this episode, there’s a brief preview for epsiode 7, which will take place in Japan and will feature Shige, Horiyoshi III, Genko, and En. It definitely looks like it’ll be awesome, and I’m pretty excited for it. At any rate, support The Gypsy Gentleman and enjoy this episode.

About Our Endless Days

I am an avid traditional tattoo enthusiast that enjoys the rich culture, history, and art of tattoos. At this point in time, I'm slowly but surely adding to my tattoos.
This entry was posted in Interviews, Tattooers, Video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

